Wednesday, July 15, 2020

‘Di na naliligaw sa Pasig! Duterte signs law designating Antipolo as Rizal’s capital

Jun 24, 2020 @ 7:47

President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law a bill designating Antipolo City as the official capital of Rizal province.

Republic Act 11475 transfers the seat of Rizal’s provincial government from Pasig City to Antipolo.

“Upon the effectivity of this Act, the present Provincial Capitol located in the City of Antipolo, Province of Rizal shall be deemed as the official Provincial Government Center where all the provincial offices shall be established,” the law read.

Pasig was part of Rizal when it was declared a province in 1901. However, Pasig became part of Metro Manila in 1975.

In 2009, the provincial government of Rizal made Antipolo as its de facto capital by constructing the capitol building in the city.

Politiko would love to hear your views on this...
The comments posted on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

Trending News

Want Politiko alerts on your inbox? Subscribe here.