WebClick Tracer



Top 10 studes in Bicol to be honored

The Ten Outstanding Students of Bicol (TOSB) have been named and are set to he feted this coming March 4, at the UNC Social Hall, University of Nueva Cacere in Naga City, Camarines Sur.

This year’s awardees are Joshua Arsenio Espiritu III from the University of Nueva Caceres, Froilan Celetaria (University on Northeastern Philippines), Norman Manlangit (Ligao Community College), Francis Orasa (University of Nueva Caceres), John Jorge Rances (University on Northeastern Philippines), Aggie Zephaniah Gonowon (University on Northeastern Philippines), Angel Parado (Ligao Community College), Jiesel Pesito (Ligao Community College), Darwin Racadag (Ligao Community College), and Ron Ephraim Roluna (Ateneo De Naga University).

“As much as possible, we want to encourage our Bicolano youth to unceasingly strive to excel not just academically, but in other noble pursuits outside the four corners of the classroom,” said Rep. Rodel Batocabe of AKO-Bicol party list, organizer of the annual search.

“We believe that holistic development is the key to produce future leaders in the person of these outstanding students, who will aid in securing a brighter future for the Bicol region,” Batocabe added.

Winners will receive a laptop and a personalized plaque while all finalists receive a tablet.

Among the special awards to be given are the Top Initiative of Bicolano Advocacies of the Youth (TIBAY), and the People’s Choice Award, each with special prizes courtesy of LCC Malls and Supermarket and P5,000 in cash from AYOS Bicol.

The search is done in partnership with the Commission on Higher Education ROV. AKO-Bicol has been in close contact with previous batches of the TOSB, tracking their progress after college and organizing efforts in line with the partylist’s vision of helping Bicolanos reach their full potential. (Randy K. Ortega)